Process for Expunging Adult Criminal Records in Georgia
The Application and Process
The Georgia Request for Expungement form itself is three pages, with a different section on each page. You will fill out Section One and then take the form to the arresting agency, which fills out Section Two. The arresting agency will then forward your request to the prosecutor to fill out Section Three. The prosecutor will either approve or deny your request, and return the Request for Expungement form to the arresting agency.
Click here for a link to the Georgia Request for Expungement form (officially called the Request to Expunge Arrest Record form).
If your Request for Expungement has been approved by the prosecutor, you will receive the form back. Next, you'll need to forward your approved request to the Georgia Crime Information Center (GCIC), along with a $25* money order or certified check payable to the Georgia Bureau of Investigation. The address for sending the form and fee is:
Georgia Crime Information Center
PO Box 370808
Decatur, Georgia 30037-0808
*Note that the GCIC is legally authorized to increase the fee to up to $50: always check directly with the center to be sure of the fee amount before you submit your application.
You can also hand-deliver your Request for Expungement (along with the necessary fee) directly to the GCIC in Decatur, at any time between 8:00am and 4:30pm, Monday through Friday. The physical location is:
3121 Panthersville Road
Decatur, Georgia 30034
The application forms must be filled out perfectly, and be sure to include all required copies in your submission. If your form contains any errors or omissions, or if the prosecutor does not approve your request, it will be returned to you without any refund of fees you may have paid. You can check on your application status by calling the GCIC CCH/Identification Services at (404) 270-8396, or emailing email@example.com.
Each Request for Expungement form may only contain one date of arrest, though it's possible for there to have been multiple charges for that one date. There may also be extra fees for additional procedures required by the arresting agency to process the request. The fees and requirements will vary, so be sure to check with the agency that arrested you before submitting your Request for Expungement to the GCIC.
Remember, you cannot have an arrest record expunged if you paid a fine or completed First Offender probation for the offense committed. You may only request that your record be expunged if the case was dropped or dismissed by the court.
For more help on your specific situation, contact an experienced Georgia criminal attorney today.
For more information on Georgia criminal history record expungements, see the following articles:
- Overview of Georgia Criminal History Record Expungement
- Expunging/Sealing Adult Criminal Records in Georgia – Eligibility
- Expunging Juvenile Adjudication Records in Georgia
- Do I Need an Attorney to Expunge My Criminal Record in Georgia?