Colorado DUI Lawyers, Penalty, Fines, & Convictions

Find the Right Lawyer for Your Legal Issue!

Fast, Free and Confidential

Find the Right Lawyer for Your Legal Issue!

Fast, Free and Confidential

A DUI charge is a serious matter. Whether it is your first offense or your third offense, you need legal information and legal help and you need them fast. Here is your one-stop source for Colorado DUI lawyers, Colorado DUI laws, and what a Colorado DUI attorney can do for you.

Colorado DUI Glossary of Terms

Colorado DUI Insurance Consequences:

What Happens When You Get Stopped for Drunk Driving?

How Does a Drunk Driving Conviction Affect Your Record?

Colorado DUI Lawyers:

Find an experienced Colorado DUI Attorney at AttorneyPages.com

Post your case to a Colorado DUI Lawyer

How a DUI/DWI Lawyer Can Help

Colorado DUI Convictions:

Colorado BAC Per Se: 0.08 %

High BAC: 0.20%

BAC Zero Tolerance: 0.02 %

Commercial Drivers License Per Se BAC While Operating a Commercial Vehicle: 0.04%

Colorado DWAI: DWAI stands for Driving While Ability Impaired, a lesser-offense, where the driver's blood alcohol level (BAC) is 0.05% or higher, but less than 0.08%.

Colorado Implied Consent Law/Test Refusal Consequences: Yes. Refusal to consent to an alcohol test may result in license revocation.

DUI Penalties

First DUI Offense:

Jail: 5 days to 1 year, but none mandatory.

Fine: $600-1000, plus costs.

License Suspension: 9 months.

Community Service: 48-96 hours.

First Offense (BAC >0.2%): Jail time of 90 days to 1 year, 10 days mandatory. Fine of $500-1500, plus costs. Community service of 60-120 hours. License suspension for up to 9 months and 12 points on your driver’s license.

Second DUI Offense:

Jail: A mandatory minimum of 10 days.

Fine: $1,000 to $1,500.

License Suspension: 1 year.

Ignition Interlock Device: An IID will be installed on your vehicle(s) at your expense.

Third DUI Offense:

Jail: 60 day minimum.

Fine: $900-$1,500.

License Suspension: 2 years.

Ignition Interlock Device: An IID will be installed on your vehicle(s) at your expense.

Prior DWAI: Jail time of 70 days to 1 year, 7 days mandatory. Fine of $450-1500, plus costs. Community service of 56-112 hours. Possible 1-year driver’s license revocation.

Prior DUI: Jail time of 90 days to 1 year, 10 days mandatory. Fine of $500-1500, plus costs. Community service of 60-120 hours. Possible 1-year driver’s license revocation.

DWAI Penalties

First DWAI Offense:

Jail: 2 days to 180 days, but none mandatory.

Fine: $100-500, plus costs.

License Revocation: None, but 8 point deduction on your drivers license.

Community Service: 24-48 hours.

First Offense (BAC >0.2%): Jail time of 90 days to 1 year, 10 days mandatory. Fine of $500-1500, plus costs. Community service of 60-120 hours. 8 points on your driver’s license.

Prior DWAI: Jail time of 45 days to 1 year, 5 days mandatory. Fine of $300-1000, plus costs. Community service of 48-96 hours. Possible 1-year driver’s license revocation.

Prior DUI: Jail time of 60 days to 1 year, 6 days mandatory. Fine of $400-1200, plus costs. Community service of 52-104 hours. Possible 1-year driver’s license revocation.

DUI convictions outside of Colorado count as prior offenses in determining punishments.

Find the Right Lawyer for Your Legal Issue!

Fast, Free and Confidential

Find the Right Lawyer for Your Legal Issue!

Fast, Free and Confidential