Michigan DUI/OWI/OUIL Law and Statutes

If you would like to learn more about Michigan DUI/OWI/OUIL laws, research the Michigan Codes on your own, or simply need a lawyer specializing in Michigan DUI/OWI/OUIL law at this time, you will find the resources you need right here.  

Michigan DUI/OWI/OUIL Resources:

Michigan DUI/OWI/OUIL Glossary of Terms 

Michigan DUI/OWI/OUIL Lawyers

Find an experienced Michigan DUI/OWI/OUIL Attorney at AttorneyPages.com

Post your case to a Michigan DUI/OWI/OUIL Lawyer
How a DUI/OWI/OUIL Lawyer Can Help  

Articles:

Michigan DUI/OWI/OUIL Insurance Consequences:

What Happens When You Get Stopped for Drunk Driving?

How Does a Drunk Driving Conviction Affect Your Record?

Michigan Department of State
Michigan Department of State
Lansing, MI 48918
General: (517) 322-1460

Michigan Department of Transportation

Michigan Substance Abuse Regional Coordinating Agencies

National Highway Traffic Safety Administration

Traffic Safety Facts: Alcohol-Related Fatalities in 2004 (NHTSA) 

Michigan DUI/OWI/OUIL Statutes:

Michigan Statutes Online:

Michigan DUI/OWI/OUIL Convictions: Michigan Compiled Laws (MCL), Sections 257.625(1), 257.625(3), 257.625(6), 257.625a(d), 257.625c.

Michigan DUI/OWI/OUIL Fines & Sentencing/First Offense:

Michigan Criminal Status: MCL Sections 257.625(11)(a), 257.625(9)(a)

Jail: MCL Sections 257.625(11)(a)(ii), 257.625(9)(a)(ii)

New 2010 DUI Laws: Drunk Driving PA 461; PA 462 of 2008; MCL 257.625k

Michigan DUI/DWI Fines/Costs: MCL Sections 257.625(11)(a)(iii), 257.625(9)(a)(iii)

Michigan License Suspension: MCL Section 257.319

Violation of Zero Tolerance Law: MCL Section 257.625(12)

Vehicle Immobilization: MCL Sections 257.625(11)(e), 257.625(9)(e)

Community Service: MCL Sections 257.625(11)(a)(i), 257.625(9)(a)(i) 

Michigan DUI/OWI/OUIL Fines & Sentencing/Second Offense Plus:

Michigan Criminal Status: 2nd offense - MCL Sections 257.625(11)(a), 257.625(9)(a); 3rd offense or more - MCL Sections 257.625(11)(c), 257.625(9)(c)

Jail: 2nd offense - MCL Sections 257.625(11)(b)(i), 257.625(9)(b)(i); 3rd offense or more - MCL Sections 257.625(11)(c)(i), 257.625(9)(c)(i)

Michigan DUI Fines/Costs: 2nd offense - MCL Sections 257.625(11)(b), 257.625(9)(b);

3rd offense or more - MCL Sections 257.625(11)(c), 257.625(9)(c)

Michigan License Suspension: MCL Section 257.319

Vehicle Immobilization: MCL Sections 257.625(11)(e), 257.625(9)(e)

A drunk driving (OUIL) conviction license suspension is 180 days for the first offense.  A second offense is not specified.

A driving while visibly impaired (OWI) first offense is 90 days suspension and the second is 180 days.  For persons under 21, its 30 days then 90 days for the second offense. 

Community Service: 2nd offense - MCL Sections 257.625(11)(b)(ii), 257.625(9)(b)(ii); 3rd offense or more - MCL Sections 257.625(11)(c)(ii), 257.625(9)(c)(ii) 

Other:

Commercial Vehicle: MCL 257.625m
Michigan

Open Container Laws: MCL Section 257.624a

Ignition Interlock Device: MCL Section 257.625(24)

If you would like to learn more about Michigan DUI/OWI/OUIL laws, research the Michigan Codes on your own, or simply need a lawyer specializing in Michigan DUI/OWI/OUIL law at this time, you will find the resources you need right here.

More Michigan DUI Information - Michigan DUI Lawyers & Convictions - Michigan DUI Penalties, Fines, Sentencing - Do you need a DUI Lawyer? - Post your Case to an Michigan DUI Attorney. No Cost. No Obligation.