New York DWI Fines, Penalties, & Sentencing

Find the Right Lawyer for Your Legal Issue!

Fast, Free and Confidential

Find the Right Lawyer for Your Legal Issue!

Fast, Free and Confidential

When faced with a DWI arrest and/or conviction in the State of New York, there are a number of issues to consider: Will you have to serve jail time? If so, for how long? Or is probation a possibility? What will you owe in fines? Will your license be suspended, and for how long? Will you have to go to a DWI school or do community service?

Here are the basic laws regarding DWI fines and sentencing that apply to all states, or New York specifically:

New York DUI Glossary of Terms

New York DUI Insurance Consequences

What Happens When You Get Stopped for Drunk Driving?

How Does a Drunk Driving Conviction Affect Your Record?

First New York DWI Offense:

New York Criminal Status: Non-injury DWAIs are generally traffic infractions, non-injury DWIs are generally misdemeanors. DWAIs and DWIs that result in bodily injury may be elevated to felony status, depending upon on the circumstances. 

Jail: DWAI: up to 15 days in jail. DWI: up to one year in jail. Actual time served will depend on the circumstances surrounding the DWI and the judge.

Ignition Interlock Device (IID): Effective August 15, 2010, "Leandra's Law," promulgates that all first time misdemeanor offenders must install an IID on their vehicle for a minimum of 6 months.  The offender also must bear the costs of the IID. The installation cost is approximately $100 and the monthly IID maintenance fee ranges from $70 to $100.

DWI Arrest with a Child in the Car:  Under "Leandra's Law", driving impaired or with at least a blood alcohol level of .08 with a child passenger age 15 and under, is a Class E felony-for both first-time and repeat offenders.  The offense carries 1 to 4 years in prison, and a fine ranging from $1,000 to $5,000.

New York DWI Fines/Costs: 

  • DWAI: $300 - $500 plus possible penalty assessments. 
  • DWI: $500 - $1,000 plus possible penalty assessments. 
  • Zero Tolerance: $125 civil penalty, $100 suspension termination fee. 
  • Driver Responsibility Assessment: $250 – may need to be paid annually for 3 consecutive years ($750 total) on top of fines listed above. 

New York License Suspension:

  • DWAI: 90 day suspension.
  • DWI: Revoked for at least 6 months.

Violation of Zero Tolerance Law: 6 months suspension

New York Conditional License: Possible after participating in New York’s Drinking Driver Program (DDP).

Vehicle Impound: Yes.

New York DWI School: Attendance at a Victim Impact Panel, Optional Drinking Driver Program (DDP).

New York Probation: Possible probation, usually report to a probation officer. Offenders are tracked through probation and treatment for re-licensing purposes.

New York Community Service: Community service may be possible as part of probation, but it depends on the court and the individual judge.

Second New York DWI Offense, Or More

New York Criminal Status: Non-injury DWAIs are generally traffic infractions, non-injury DWIs are generally misdemeanors. DWAIs and DWIs that result in bodily injury may be elevated to felony status, depending upon on the circumstances. 

Jail: Minimum of 5 days (or community service as an alternative), maximum of 30 days. 

New York DWI Fines/Costs: 

  • Second DWAI violation in five years: $500 - $750, plus fees and assessments. 
  • Second DWI violation in 10 years: $1,000 - $5,000, plus fees and assessments. 
  • Second violation of Zero Tolerance Law: $125 civil penalty and $100 reapplication fee. 

New York License Suspension:

  • Second DWAI in five years: 6 month revocation
  • Second DWI: one year revocation
  • Second Zero Tolerance Law violation: one year revocation or until 21

Vehicle Impound: Yes.

New York DWI School: Possible attendance Drinking Driver Program (DDP) Link: http://www.nydmv.state.ny.us/broch/c40.htm. Additionally, courts may require attendance at a “Victim Impact Program”

New York Probation: Yes. Depends on offense, court and judge. Offenders are tracked through probation and treatment for re-licensing purposes. Alcohol or drug treatment program may be prescribed by court as part of probation. Probation periods for misdemeanors are between one and three years.

New York Community Service: 5 days of community service generally required.

Other:

Commercial Vehicle: 

Per se – level 1 (BAC of .04 - .07); fine of $300 - $500 (plus possible assessments); misdemeanor, maximum possible jail term of 15 days, 1 year CDL (commercial driver’s license)
Class A, B or C disqualification or 3 years if driving a vehicle that requires hazardous materials placards.

Per se – level 2 (BAC of .06 to .08, fine of $500 - $1,500 (plus possible assessments), misdemeanor, maximum possible jail term of 180 days, 1 year CDL disqualification / revocation. CDL operators under the age of 21 will be guilty of DWI with a BAC of .02 - .04. 

Under Age: 21 

New York DWI Insurance Consequences: How a DUI/DWI Affects Your Car Insurance.

New York Open Container Laws: Yes. Driver/passenger.

How long does a DWI stay on your record? A DWI in New York stays on your driving record for 10 years.

Driver Responsibility Tax: Yes. New York has a driver responsibility ‘assessment’ of $250 that may need to be paid annually for three consecutive years ($750 total) on top of fines.

Ignition interlock device program: To be repealed September 2007.

More DUI Information and Resources: New York DUI Statutes, Resources - Do you need a DUI Lawyer? - Post Your Case to a New York DUI Attorney. No Cost. No Obligation.

Find the Right Lawyer for Your Legal Issue!

Fast, Free and Confidential

Find the Right Lawyer for Your Legal Issue!

Fast, Free and Confidential